The story of Zokk'n

Universal problem

The laundry basket with single or orphan socks, the eternal search under the bed, behind the cupboard, in the washing machine for that other sock, throwing away a perfect sock because the other one is broken ... everyone knows this universal problem.

My son Tybo has had his personal solution for years: he just wears two different socks. Smart, but also not optimal because there is no match at all. I personally hate that. Even if nobody sees my socks, I want my complete outfit to be right. And I'm not the only one, right?

I knew that I could find a solution for this and in 2013 I decided to work out this plan effectively. At that time I had less than a gram of knowledge about raw material, the properties of yarn, the complexity of sock making. Years of research and a number of training courses on fibers and entrepreneurship have provided me with many insights.

Concept, sustainability, quality

I knew from the beginning that I would bring quality socks to the market. But what is quality?
For me: the 'touch' of material. The strength of the fiber. The utility factor. In relation to socks: I want warm feet in the winter and no sweaty feet in the summer. Quality is expensive and often fragile. In short: I want woolen socks and they are not allowed in the machine with any washing program.
Quality also goes with respect. Both are anchored, directly proportional. Without the one, the other cannot be. Respect for nature and for people who contribute to the realisation, from start to finish.

The socks would also become durable. It became a complex search. After a lot of trial and error, with a side jump to a spun thread of its own based on Dutch Alpaca, the decision was made to work with a blend with a high percentage of Italian merino.
Now there was a big windfall and it was in the concept itself, because, undeniably, of all sustainable solutions is the best and the most obvious one, the solution that has been around for centuries, and reads as follows:

"Sustainability begins with not throwing away something that is not broken

Socks simply have to be endlessly combinable!

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal €0,00
Shipping
Total

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods

L’histoire de Zokk'n

La solution aux chaussettes perdues

Un problème universel

Le panier à linge avec des chaussettes seules ou orphelines, la recherche éternelle sous le lit, derrière l’armoire, dans le lave-linge pour trouver l’autre chaussette, jeter une chaussette en bon état parce que l’autre est perdue, etc. Ce problème universel, nous le connaissons tous.

Cela fait plusieurs années déjà que mon fils Tybo a trouvé sa propre solution : il porte tout simplement deux chaussettes différentes. Intelligent, mais pas non plus idéal, car aucune chaussette n’est assortie. Et ça, personnellement, je déteste. Même si personne ne voit mes chaussettes, je veux une tenue parfaitement coordonnée. Et sur ce point, je ne suis pas la seule à être d’accord, n’est-ce pas ?

Après mûre réflexion, j’ai trouvé une solution et c’est en 2013 que j’ai décidé de concrétiser ce projet. À l’époque, je n'avais aucune connaissance de la matière première, des propriétés des fils, ni de la complexité propre à la fabrication de chaussettes. Des années de recherche et plusieurs formations sur les fibres et l’entreprise m’ont apporté un tas d’enseignements. 

Concept, durabilité, qualité

Je savais dès le début que je commercialiserais des chaussettes de qualité. Mais la qualité, c’est quoi exactement ?
Pour moi : le 'toucher' de la matière. La force de la fibre. Le facteur d’utilité. Pour ce qui est des chaussettes : en hiver, je veux des pieds chauds et en été, je ne supporte pas d’avoir les pieds moites. La qualité est chère, et souvent fragile. Bref : je veux des chaussettes en laine, et celles-ci ne peuvent être lavées sur n’importe quel programme de lavage en machine.
Qualité rime aussi avec respect. Les deux sont ancrés, directement en proportion. Sans l’un, l’autre n’existe pas. Respect de lanature et de l’homme qui contribue à la réalisation, de A à Z.

Les chaussettes devaient également être durables. Une tâche qui s’annonçait complexe. Après beaucoup d’essais et d’échecs, avec une parenthèse où j’ai utilisé mon propre fil filé à base d’alpaga néerlandais, mon choix s’est porté sur l’utilisation d’un mélange avec un pourcentage élevé de mérinos italien.
Et c’est au même moment que j'ai reçu un sacré coup de pouce, lié au concept même. Car incontestablement, de toutes les solutions durables, la meilleure et la plus évidente est celle qui existe depuis des siècles déjà, et qui est la suivante :

« La durabilité, cela commence par ne pas jeter ce qui n’est pas cassé »

Des chaussettes doivent tout simplement pouvoir être combinées à l’infini !

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal €0,00
Shipping
Total

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods